Codys Kids, Inc

Sultry Savannah

on April 27, 2012

Robert, my host and a fine southern gentleman, invited me to their annual neighborhood fund-raiser for what else but the American Cancer Society.   I ask him the attire as I was still enroute from St. Augustine and he promptly advised me to “come as you are…”   I did.

Well, unlike South Florida where you rarely can be “too casual”, I felt too casual.

The venue was a beautifully restored home with an elaborate courtyard where several hundred guests milled around exchanging stories.   Most of them dressed quite nicely for this garden party event. 

These folks, while enjoying themselves, were there for a worthwhile cause. I understand through the grapevine they raised about six thousand dollars during the 2 1/2 hour gathering.  

This was just a small introduction to the seeming hospitable nature and the sense of community that I felt during my stay.

Making a few contacts, I too quickly found my time there over and heading to my next stop Myrtle Beach, South Carolina – wonder what God’s got in store for me there…


3 responses to “Sultry Savannah

  1. Bill Skehan says:

    Well, just talked to you and I am pleasantly please to find you in such good spirits.
    Gotta go, honey calling

  2. David Smith says:

    When you are on a journey like your you can never appear too casual

Leave a comment